• Advertisement
Majek Boats

kayak fishing at Big Lake

General kayak / paddle craft discussion.

kayak fishing at Big Lake

Postby oldman » Sun Jun 26, 2011 12:46 pm

would like to know the best area to fish at Big Lake in a kayak. I have never fished there a here that you can catch some real nice trout. Also what is the best bait other than live. Thanks (sorry I put this in the wrong place I am new to this )
oldman

Re: kayak fishing at Big Lake

Postby Ray » Wed Jun 29, 2011 1:42 pm

Glow colored Salty Grubs on a 1/4 oz. leadhead. Hard to beat.
Or Reaction Strike Jerk Jr./Norton Sand Eels on a 1/4 oz. leadhead.
Ray
Site Admin

2009 Cobia 19 Bay

Postby achilles337 » Wed Jun 29, 2011 2:19 pm

How come I haven't caught any good fish on those lures that were mentioned??? I have tried every brand and color lure and have yet to catch a speck on one this year. I think that I'm cursed this year!
Anyway, a good Kayak spot for me last summer was to go and launch at the Calcasieu Point Landing and just fish the entire LNG canal to your East. I fished both sides with pretty good outcomes most of the time, by the end of the canal up against the bulkheads is another good spot for nice white trout. * Watch out for the barges *
achilles337

Postby Ray » Wed Jun 29, 2011 8:35 pm

I was throwing a glow Salty Grub on a 1/4 oz. lead head and also a DOA shrimp under a popping cork on Sat., Sun. and Mon. against 4 live bait(shrimp, croaker and mullet) fishermen.
I caught the same as one guy on one trip and beat everyone on the other 3 trips.
I guess it's how you work it.
If they don't hit after 10 or so casts, try a different tactic. Work fast, one twitch at a time. If not catching, double twitch. If still not catching, work slower.
If still nothing, change color. Glow is pretty hard to beat.
Ray
Site Admin

2009 Cobia 19 Bay

Postby yak-aholic » Mon Jul 04, 2011 7:59 pm